West Croft School

01237 473548


Contact Details

Interactive bar


Early Years

Early Years Foundation Stage and Key Stage 1 Curriculum.

Through the curriculum children are expected to become actively involved, develop thinking skills with positive approaches and evaluation in their learning. Through planning we aim to provide an inclusive and differentiated curriculum to promote enjoyable and exciting opportunities for every pupil to achieve success and reach their full potential.


   Early Years Foundation Stage

The Reception classes follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum which emphasis on a child’s developmental needs, with a focus on learning through 'real world' and meaningful activities. The focus is on the importance of play and child led investigation is central to learning approaches across early year’s education.

Guidance to your child's Learning and Development in the Early Years Foundation Stage.

What to Expect, When?

Expected Early Learning Goals and the EYFS



   Key Stage 1

At Key Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2) children follow a different curriculum to the Reception classes. We aim to provide a broad, rich and balanced curriculum relevant to pupils learning needs with opportunities to develop:

  • Knowledge and understanding
  • Competence in a wide variety of skills
  • Personal qualities, values and attitudes
  • Awareness of others and the wider world


At West Croft we have developed a systematic phonics programme using the use the Letters and Sounds letter order. We have aligned our reading books to run alongside the programme to ensure all children are reading correctly matched reading books to their phonics ability. 


Letters and Sounds is a phonics resource which aims to build children's speaking and listening skills in their own right as well as to prepare children for learning to read by developing their phonic knowledge and skills. I


There are six phases: starting with teaching phonic skills for children in nursery, with the aim of them becoming fluent readers by age seven.



Phonic Knowledge and Skills

Phase One (Nursery/Reception)

Activities are divided into seven aspects, including environmental sounds, instrumental sounds, body sounds, rhythm and rhyme, alliteration, voice sounds and finally oral blending and segmenting.

Phase Two (Reception) up to 6 weeks

Learning 19 letters of the alphabet and one sound for each. Blending sounds together to make words. Segmenting words into their separate sounds. Beginning to read simple captions.

Phase Three (Reception) up to 12 weeks

The remaining 7 letters of the alphabet, one sound for each. Graphemes such as or, oo, th representing the remaining phonemes not covered by single letters. Reading captions, sentences and questions. On completion of this phase, children will have learnt the "simple code", i.e. one grapheme for each phoneme in the English language.

Phase Four (Reception/Year 1) 4 to 6 weeks

No new grapheme-phoneme correspondences are taught in this phase. Children learn to blend and segment longer words with adjacent consonants, e.g. swim, clap, jump.

Phase Five (Throughout Year 1)

Now we move on to the "complex code". Children learn more graphemes for the phonemes which they already know, plus different ways of pronouncing the graphemes they already know.

Phase Six (Throughout Year 2 and beyond)

Working on spelling, including prefixes and suffixes, doubling and dropping letters etc.