West Croft School

Enjoy. Learn. Achieve.

Contact Details

Interactive bar


Early Years Foundation Stage

Early Years Foundation Stage and Key Stage 1 Curriculum.

Through the curriculum children are expected to become actively involved, develop thinking skills with positive approaches and evaluation in their learning. Through planning we aim to provide an inclusive and differentiated curriculum to promote enjoyable and exciting opportunities for every pupil to achieve success and reach their full potential.


Early Years Foundation Stage

The Reception classes follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum which emphasis on a child’s developmental needs, with a focus on learning through 'real world' and meaningful activities. The focus is on the importance of play and child led investigation is central to learning approaches across early year’s education.


Key Stage 1

At Key Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2) children follow a different curriculum to the Reception classes. We aim to provide a broad, rich and balanced curriculum relevant to pupils learning needs with opportunities to develop:

  • Knowledge and understanding
  • Competence in a wide variety of skills
  • Personal qualities, values and attitudes
  • Awareness of others and the wider world